Press | Product design

by KG in product design

OVPro | Ebusco 3.0 bus wins Red Dot Award in international design competition

Bus builder Ebusco has won a design award for the design of the composite Ebusco 3.0 bus. It concerns the Red Dot Award 2022 in the category product design for industrially produced products.

The Red Dot Award is one of the largest annual design competitions worldwide, in which multiple products are awarded. The prestigious red dot label has become a hallmark for good design. The official award ceremony of the competition will take place in Essen at the end of June during the Red Dot Design Week.

KesselsGranger DesignWorks
Ebusco, the listed developer and supplier of electric buses and charging systems from Deurne, says it is honoured with the prize. “Thanks to the collaboration with our partner KesselsGranger DesignWorks, who has worked with us from the beginning, we have been able to design this bus in such a way that it stands out from all the others,” said Ebusco. KesselsGranger DesignWorks specialises in, among other things, the design of public transport on the road and in the water.

After Ebusco presented the prototype of the Ebusco 3.0 in 2019, the first buses were delivered to Stadtwerke München, one of Ebusco's innovation partners, at the end of last year. In the Netherlands, the vehicles will also hit the road in the course of this year. They will serve in Gooi en Vechtstreek, a concession area of Transdev.

Interior and exterior
The interior design of the Ebusco 3.0 focuses on comfort for both passenger and driver. The flat floor provides room for movement. The optional panoramic skylight allows plenty of natural daylight to enter. Safety is another important design aspect. This is reflected in the cameras, among other things.

The shape of the body is determined by the curvature of the carbon spaceframe. This not only provides extra strength, but also a special curved shape.

Ebusco was founded ten years ago. Electric buses from the manufacturer are now in operation in several European countries, including the Netherlands, Belgium, Germany, France, Denmark, Norway and Switzerland.